Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

VR gun

node
Offline / Send Message
Kainkun node
I made a weird gun with a VR scope. I'm still new to modeling and texturing game assets. Any critique would be appreciated.

model

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    There's definitely opportunity to reduce the polygonal count on this.  I would recommend optimizing it.

Do you have time to redesign this?  Definitely looks like a gun this time and slightly better designed from your cyberpunk gadget before, but this feels like it needed more time in the concepting stage. 

It doesn't feel well thought out.

What makes this a weird gun and what  is a VR scope?

Your detailing right now has not been given enough love.  If you notice, your edgewear is consistent ALL across most of the gun, when it's clear in real life examples that certain areas of objects get more damaged than not.  It's like a car: it's highly unlikely the roof of one will be mroe  damaged than the bumpers.  So why would the scratches on the roof be as consistent as it is on the numpers?

You need to go back in an specify and tighten up where you're putting scratches, dents, and kinks, and don't just slap it across areas or do nothing to tighten up a procedurally laid out one.

Is there a reason why the viewfinder is at an angle?

Is that stock behind the grip meant for the forearm or shoulder?

What references were you using when you were modeling and texturing this?
  • Kainkun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kainkun node
    Thanks for always helping me :) Do you know what's the best way to lower poly count? I'm not sure since I've been modeling with the subdivision style.

It's just personal stuff so I can work on it more. Yeah, I was just making it as I went so I guess it isn't too cohesive.