Home Career & Education

CG Spectrum, CGMA, or Gnomon for online courses?

Eywen
null
Offline / Send Message
Eywen null

Hi everyone,

I just recently graduated from an animation program where I specialized in 3D modelling, but I’m looking to take some online courses to help improve my portfolio and learn ZBrush. I’ve been stuck between choosing either CG Spectrum, CG Master Academy, or Gnomon.

CG Spectrum has an Advanced Modelling course where you cover character, environment/props, and creature modelling and have the opportunity to get one-on-one mentorship. The problem is it’s the most expensive of the three (especially since I’m Canadian and the prices are in USD) and 10-months long.

CG Master Academy is much cheaper than CG Spectrum and most of the courses seem to go for at least 6-weeks and longer. Since I’m still quite new to ZBrush, I don’t know if the courses are too specialized to start learning right now as a beginner. They have a ZBrush for Concept and Iteration course which looks like it could be a good place to start, but I can’t find any many other reviews on the course. 

Gnomon is very popular and their student’s work is absolutely amazing.  They have the online Digital Sculpting and Hard Surface modelling course which look very good, and many of their courses run for 10-weeks and are a pretty good price. I haven’t seen many people talking about their experiences with Gnomon’s online courses though, so I’m not sure if their online classes have close to same quality as the ones they offer at the physical school.

Sorry for the long post, I just want to figure out the pros and cons of each before making the decision and spending the money on one. If anyone has advice or experiences with any of these three or have suggestions for any other online courses, it would be greatly appreciated! 

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter