Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Frog Surfer Character

Ged
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Ged interpolator
I saw pics of the red eyed tree frog and throught it would make a fun character model in a bright colourful stylised game. I drew a simple concept and then kept working on it until I had the coloured version with the cool scifi hover surfboard. I was also obviously inspired by overwatch stuff here and there. I'm not really a concept artist so I expect the concept to evolve a bit during making the game rez model.

I also did some quick sketches of facial expressions and the hand and foot so that I have a better understanding of the forms and I'm more prepared for the sculpt.

Replies

• Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    I'm just in the process of blocking out the characters forms, starting with his body of course. I'm using primitives and building the shapes like that, never tried this method before but it makes sense and the resulting shapes are nice and clean. I heard about it from Shane Olson (made Disney Infinity characters) and Leticia Gillet (makes Overwatch characters) who both seem to think this is a fantastic way to start making stylised characters. Definitely worth the effort, though this being the first time I've tried it it has taken me about 4 hours to get this far but I'm sure I will get much faster at this and find some good shortcuts.

• bkost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bkost interpolator
    Hey @Ged nice blockout so far. Yea I totally agree, I've began to build my base meshes with primitive shapes as separate tools. Way easier to manipulate the intersections/joints. I like the frog and clothing on the concept. I believe the shoulder piece and board could be elevated. 

I'm excited to see where you take this!
  • Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator