Home Technical Talk

how to get a normal map for my character

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi!
I curently finished retopology my character in 3Ds max but before that I sclupted it in zbrush. so here is my workflow
-sclupt in zbrush
-retopology in 3dsmax
-unwrap UV

my problem is I cannot use the normalmap which is from zbrush because it has a different UV.
can somebody give me any suggestion what I should do to get a normal map from zbrush(the character before I retopology in 3dsmax) for my retopologized character in 3dsmax? and what is the correct workflow?

thank you so much ^_^

note: I'm still new in 3Dsmax and Zbrush

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    Good apps for making a game model. You might be missing a few things tho. 
    High poly detailed mesh in ZBrush. Play with the export settings in ZBrush until the model is the right size and position in the 3d app you plan to make the lowpoly in. I use a decimayed copy of the ZB high poly for this and use that for export.

Once the decimated copy is how you want it in (this case Max) use polydraw to make a lowpoly. Uv the lowpoly and export it to your disk. At this stage you can export the highpoly from ZBrush to your disk and the export settings in ZBrush will make sure both versions of the asset are in the exact same position in 3d space and at the exact correct size.

Now comes the magic! There are a number of different apps you can use to bake the textures. Ive used Max and XNormal which are great, but you have to export the lowpoly with a cage (for best results). If you use an app like substance painter you  don't need a cage, just import the lowpoly and point substance painter to the highpoly and hit bake. Your normal map (among others) is derived from the difference between the high and uved lowpoly.

Hope that helps.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter