Home Career & Education

Should I quit 3D and move onto 2D?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
proto93 polycounter lvl 4
so I want to become an indie-dev as a hobby after work. I have always done 3D and never considered 2D until last night I had a dream of converting all my projects into a 2D format.

When I woke up, I actually sat down and took some time to think. Right now I study programming, sculpting, and modeling. I still do not know much about topology, texturing, rigging, animating, and lets not forget the sound effects.

I am a one man hobbyist and do not really want to hire others since I do not have the money, nor is it a serious thing.

looking at 2D i realized some compromises to my game would have to be made, but the amount of work would plummet and I can make faster progress. But I prefer 3D. 

What do you guys think is the best thing to do?

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
  • Andreicus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreicus polycounter lvl 6
    Hi, if your goal is to make money as an indie developer 2D is your best option because there are way less technical stuff involved during the creation of the game and the path of the "one man army" is perfectly doable after you are good at drawing and programming and if you don't want to learn programming ( i mean the code like c++ and so on ) there are a lot of good 2D game engines like Game Maker where you can code with a visual language ( something like Unreal Blueprint ).

Regarding 3D it is very difficult to be the only developer on a game, unless it is a very simple game like space invaders, a platform or you can work on it full time because people pay you to develop it like Yandere Simulator that has a Patreon.
    You also need to be good in every department of 3D like modeling, animation, rigging, texturing, optimization etc.