Home Career & Education

What do you wish you learned earlier /before you graduated/ got a job in games/ etc ?

b_gibson
null
Offline / Send Message
b_gibson null
I'm going to be a senior and working on my thesis for college this year soon, and the imposter syndrome is kicking in in a major way, I didn't get to do an internship or work on art much over the summer due to a family emergency so I felt like I really got left out on an opportunity to learn more and be more prepared to be a senior/ graduate, so I'm asking not only to make myself feel better but to look for opportunities to learn more. 

So what do you wish you learned earlier? This can be any type of art, doesn't matter.

I'm still learning but I honestly had wished I'd learned trim sheets earlier, I only recently "got" them. 

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    Substance Painter 

Admittedly, it was a little justified because my computer is very weak. Even now, I can only do so much without hitting memory limits.

But sticking with Photoshop for too long lead to some bad habits when it came to texturing. Being able to paint directly on your models instead of just looking at flat UVs in a photoshop document is a huge difference.

It also would have introduced me to a lot more topics. Learning how to bake out curvature maps, creating smart materials, material layers, layer masks etc. 

I also realized had I learned it, I would have gotten my first job in the industry. In my first job interview, I was told they were looking for someone who could use Mari. I made the mistake of saying I only knew Photoshop but I was quickly getting ready to move onto 3D painting software.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    There's a way to fire people with charity.
  • garcellano
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    garcellano greentooth