Home Career & Education

Is Level Design Enough?

ChrisLambert
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ChrisLambert polycounter lvl 5
Hello all,

My first post - hopefully not a one post wonder! 
I'm very new to this so hopefully I don't roll too many eyes haha.

A lot of what I've seen to do with Level Design on here and on ArtStation is focused around designing/texturing your own assets.
Is it enough to design levels without using any of your own custom assets? For example in an engine with assets already included?
And then making those levels playable, with A.I?

Thank you

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Designing and texturing your own assets is Environment Art

To dress/construct levels with environment assets is, in general, World Art/Building

To design the player experience by modifying the playspace is Level Design.

So if you're going for level design, it's totally fine to reuse assets.  Designers want to see design first, art somewhere later.  Mind you, it is nice to see custom art if possible.

Also, check out the Polycount Wiki:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Polycount

• ChrisLambert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you ever so much for the response and clearing that up!
    I also have all my lovely ugly design sketches to help show things were intentional - which I hope helps.

The Polycount Wiki is excellent, been looking at it a lot. I was just starting to question what I was doing because of all the amazing artwork haha.

Thanks again.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter