Home Technical Talk

Star Citizen assets workflow questions

Rawalanche
null
Hi,

I am fairly new to realtime/game asset creation, although I have lots of experience as a 3D generalist for past 9 years (offline rendering). I am trying to find a streamlined workflow that would allow me to effectively produce high quality assets for UE4 as fast as possible, meaning more procedural and less manual approaches. 

Recently I've read an awesome Reddit post about a process used to shade and texture Star Citizen assets to maintain high detail regardless of the UV map size, this one: https://www.reddit.com/r/starcitizen/comments/3ogi3o/im_an_tech_artist_in_the_industry_and_id_love_to/

What was fascinating to me is that the workflow described very closely resembles a texturing and shading workflow I've been using in offline rendered VFX since sometime around 2012. Basically, I avoided UVs in vast majority cases, and just box/triplanar mapped the whole thing, and then used procedural, raytraced AO maps to create convex and concave cavity masks to drive the effects, with some more map mixing on top of that to distribute some of the wear and tear even outside of the cavity maps.

Thanks to this approach, I had a growing library of smart materials which I could drop onto any mesh, regardless of topology and UV layout and quickly get a nice, visually complex material. On top of that, thanks to tiling and re-purposing of a very few input textures, this approach was extremely memory efficient and the details held very well up close.

Here are some examples:
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/x2EnX
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/4b3N2

Now, when I read the reddit post, I was really blown away that the similar workflow to what I am used to can actually be used in realtime engines too, but I just can not understand how, because I am quite confused about a few things: