Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for Portfolio Critique

ericapg
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
ericapg polycounter lvl 2
I am a recent college grad looking for honest and helpful feedback on my portfolio. I am open to finding a job in any industry.  My main focus is 3D modeling and texturing. I am currently trying to build up my portfolio while I save money to move, and apply for jobs elsewhere.

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey, I think you should be using ArtStation for your portfolio. Your site should open up on your 3D work first thing; there should be no 'home' page. Your art is pretty cool. Good luck with the job hunt :)
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Your "applying to jobs" portfolio needs to have mostly the 3D work only.

Upvote about the Artstation page.  You can do a dump of ALL your art there, but your commercial portfolio should mostly be the 3D art.
  • Alemja
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alemja hero character
    Another +1 for artstation.
    If your focus is 3D modeling and texturing you're going to have to cut a lot of stuff that you have, you have a little bit of everything and it's weighing you down.
    Once you cull a majority of your stuff that is not related to 3D modeling or texturing you then have to decide if you want to pursue a character or environment path and stick to it. There aren't many generalist positions these days as the industry is getting more specialized. I think at the moment that is the best advice we can offer until we know what direction you want to take yourself and then we can dissect your work further.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    787 null
    Agreed, put it all on ArtStation, OR just make a simple one page website layout, works best for portfolios.