Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Daniel Strickland

Hey my name is Daniel Strickland. I am striving to be a video game environment and/or lighting artist. 

I will be posting all of my work here in order to get feedback and stay accountable.

Critiques welcome!

http://https//www.artstation.com/dstrickland

Replies

• d_strickland
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MPX Boolean Project:

My goals with this project were to utilize the "3ds Max/Zbrush Proboolean + Dynamesh workflow" made popular by Ben Bolton. This is my first time using the workflow, so snags are bound to be hit. 

I have also not created a single prop as a project in over a year, so this will be a great learning experience. 

I've been working on this project for 6 days, and am going to give myself about a month to complete. I hope to complete the modeling stage within two weeks, but with learning this new workflow I will give myself some leeway in case anything goes horribly wrong. 

Update 1: 

I revisited the weapon as separate parts. I took my reference images and used PureRef to create an image board. I don't know why I haven't done this earlier, it is so nice to have! 

I want to make this gun piece by piece instead of aimlessly in the hopes of being more productive and feeling more accomplished as I completely finish (model, UV, bake maps) individual pieces instead of doing everything as a batch.

Tonight I mostly modeled the pistol grip. It is a complex shape that I couldn't justify using booleans with, so it is traditionally modeled with a turbosmooth modifier set to keep smoothing groups separate. 

Before tonight I had already started the handguard, but with some more research I conducted tonight I found out that there are two generations of MPX. I prefer the 1st gen. quad rail handguard because the 2nd gen's KeyMod mounts' circular shape doesn't complement the rest of the gun. 
    Left: 1st Gen. Right: 2nd Gen. 

• d_strickland
    Options
    Offline / Send Message