Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Ilaria (illy)

null
Hello all!
I'm Ilaria (you can also call me illy) and I'm a 3D artist mainly making environments & props. I'll be sharing a lot of WIP pics here and more experimental & personal work.
Essentially, this will be a place for progress and growth. C&C are welcome!

Portfolio here:  www.ilariayoukhanaart.com

Replies

• illyYoukhi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    illyYoukhi null
    Hey all!
    I wanted to do a style study and I really like the way Steven Sugar draws trees. So I wanted to adapt that into 3D and gathered reference.

Then I created a fairly low poly model and wanted the detail to come from the texture. I messed around a bit with changing the silhouette so there was more variation in the trunk with extrusions for sections but I couldn't get it to look decent (it was affecting the readability and topology in a way I didn't like so I ditched it.)

So with that I've slowly been working on the texture and had to adapt the style and tweak it a little bit (due to a lack of detail). I hit a roadblock a while back and then couldn't focus on this for a while (due to work etc.) but I've figured out how to progress and improve the texture and make it look more tree-like. There's a few thing I want to tweak like the line thickness and the colours (they came up more cooler than I wanted due to the yellow/orange filter on my computer.)

I've already spent more time on this than I wanted but I really wanted to mess around with a different style and keep things relatively simple.
  • illyYoukhi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    illyYoukhi null
    Originally I made this model for the style study but realised I was putting in too much work for what can be achieved with something smaller. I do want to come back to this mode and polish up the topology and create some textures for it. I'll most likely make it part of a bigger scene too.
  • illyYoukhi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message