Sketchbook: RMO

rmo
node
Offline / Send Message
rmo node
Hi, my real name is Guillermo, but my designer brand name is RMO, im a graphic designer with a interest in 3d modeling, and animating, at first i was trying to incorporate 3d modeling to my work never realizing how much work is needed. so after lurking for a while i think i need real critiques, so feel free to drop some knowledge and advice if you have the chance. 

Replies

• rmo
    Offline / Send Message
    rmo node
    so, this is a personal project ive been working on this week, i still need some progress modeling some skin folds and texturing with some alphas before i try to retopo everything in maya. 
    any CC is welcome.
  • rmo
    Offline / Send Message
    rmo node
    wendigo head/skull closeup

Lower back and claws closeup 

the only things in the sculpt that are treated with alphas are the skull, teeth and antlers/horns, i still need to do detailing passes on flesh, guts, bones and skin.

im still unsure how im going to do the shaggy hair in the back and neck, what i really mean is im still unsure where im going to render the final images, the usual renders in marmoset or learn how to use vray in maya and wait a billion hours for a nice render with passes.
  • rmo
    Offline / Send Message
    rmo node
    A little update on skin, bone and flesh detailing, i think im done with the last stage of the sculpt before starting the retopology in maya, i guess if im putting the effort to finish this organic practice until i have a real portfolio piece, this means im going to need to make hd materials in substance designer and painter, then its off to vray.

• rmo
    Offline / Send Message
    rmo node
    i hate retopology, so i took my time with this one, i wanted to learn about topology for animation, and loop placement and stuff... uvs next

• Eric Chadwick
    Hey neat piece. This makes me think of the bear in the movie Annihilation, worth a watch if you haven't already.

Movie spoilers!

• rmo