Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Chinese Cottage Unity scene - Are my self-assessments correct?

Rewinged
null
Offline / Send Message
Rewinged null
Hey everyone, first post here. I'm a self-taught 3D artist trying to improve on my skills across the board (focusing on games). I've recently worked on my first full scene (as opposed to individual models) and I know it's far from great at this stage. I'd like to see if my own observations are on the right track or if there are other factors contributing to the assets looking dull.

Here is a flythrough of the scene in question, the focus is on the building assets of course.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ygas4yX-efY

Here's a list of where I think I wen't wrong or could improve:

- Everything is too flat, should have worried less about poly counts and added detail to floor/roof/wall assets to make them pop.

- Should have made several variations of models such as the fence posts so they aren't carbon copies.

- Needs a bunch of scatter objects to break apart the structure a little, as well as detail objects and decals to hide monotony.

- Should have added more detail to areas of the texture that need it, such as where posts intersect with the floor.

Am I on the right track in my thinking? What else should I focus on for my next scene? Thanks so much in advance, I know how important feedback is for art. When putting it together I knew it looked wrong but couldn't work it out as I spent so much time starting at the pieces.

Replies

• Bostvic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bostvic polycounter lvl 5