Home Technical Talk

To T Pose or Not to T Pose

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
splicer polycounter lvl 7
This is my question. Should I model my characters in a t pose or not? The one of the right is my original model, I later changed it to a t pose so I could make use of Maya's Human IK quick rig. This is good for using premade animations in Unity, however I am sure there are down sides.

Would love some opinions on the matter!

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    A pose, it lets the modeler define the shoulders and they won't stretch that bad when the arms come down to a natural pose. But really, its a minimal choice and not something that would make or break a pipeline.
  • Alex_J
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    I have been using the A-pose, and my major issue is that the initial bind grabs a lot of the torso with the shoulder joint in the armpit area. Not a big deal as once I've fixed the issue once; I can usually copy my weight from model to model. But it does mean an extra 10-30 minutes of fixing up that armpit area each time. 

By the way, you don't have to use the t-pose with humanIK. I am using humanIK and use the A-pose. I think that would only matter for the controller setup? Though I'm not sure. I am using pre-made animations, so I don't need any controllers.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    +1 for A-pose. Much more natural and easier to work with.
  • splicer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the feedback!
    @Mark Dygert I am noticing this too as I sculpt, the deltoid pushes up against the collar bone naturally, does make it problematic.