Home Career & Education

Is a degree essential for landing a job or freelance work?

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Coel93 polycounter lvl 3
Hi everyone,
 I'm a self taught 3D artist that has been trying to get a job for while, and so far I've had no luck.
I started learning 3D about 3 years ago and at the begining of this year I started sending dozens of applications every month, from game companies, to 3d printing and advertising, but all i got were either no answers or "your work doesnt match our requirements". 
It's a bit frustrating because some of my friends that are about the same level as me, got jobs fairly easy and they have a degree in either visual arts or design.
So is a degree a must for landing a job or is my work simply not good enough? 

Thank you    

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    Not at all required. Im self taught too, its all about your portfolio. Just keep working to get better and better. Aiming at being just good enough to get a job is gonna hold you back. Compare your work to industry veterans and aim for that level of quality, not entry level artists. You will get better much faster that way. 

Get good enough and your inbox will start to blow up with job offers and you wont have to deal with scarcity.  More output ;)
  • Coel93
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Coel93 polycounter lvl 3
    I see, well I guess I'll keep pushing foward then, thank you for the advice! 
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Wnat might explain with the lack of work is your portfolio.
    We can provide some feedback that way if you post it.

I thought my portfolio was better than my peers when I left uni, and it still took me 2 years and ahalf to find a fulltime position.
  • Coel93
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Coel93 polycounter lvl 3