Home General Discussion

Place to post visual effects/shaders/"tech art" for showcase and critiques

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
CarlCraft polycounter lvl 9
I am not sure where on the forums to post this so please move thread if some other place is appropriate.

Since about 6 months back I am a technical artist full time, and I have since had a hard time finding a good place for me on PolyCount. Now, the way I and probably many other see it is there are two different kind of tech artist; Pipeline/tools/workflow and vfx/shaders. On polycount there is a section called "Technical Talk" with the description "Ask technical questions about 2D/3D software & techniques & hardware, share shaders, scripts and new software". In my experience, 98% of the time it is talk about software/scripts and very little about shaders.

That is not a problem. That is perfect for those kind of Technical Artists, the pipeline guys. I am not a pipeline guy however. I work with realtime vfx, shaders and other technical in-engine solutions. A lot of particles and a lot of research for one-off solutions to specific problems.

Earlier this year I posted about how to make clouds in a game. This is a very typical task for me. There is no optimal way to go about it laid out for you, it's a process about finding out what works and what doesn't case by case. It's in these cases that a discussion with others is a great resource. What I did in my case was post about in the most fitting section on the forums, the Unity section.