Home Career & Education

Where should i begin exactly?

Eggy995
node
Offline / Send Message
Eggy995 node
Hi everyone.

Im new to 3D art, I am currently studying a diploma of interactive media which involves are a whole lot within the digital entertainment industry. I may follow into a bachelor of 3D design in the future if my finances allow me too. For now, I would like to spend some of my the free time learning the fundamentals, building a portfolio and even creating user-made content for some moddable games like Skyrim and whatever else allows it. The area that interests me the most is environment and world design but i have no idea where to start. I have very little knowledge of Maya, i made a sword, a cup, a box and a spaceship once, not textured and not rendered. My goal is to be able to create immersive worlds for people to explore and show people what i see and love.

Replies

• dropyhop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dropyhop polycounter lvl 10
    I would recomend to aim for those models uv'ed/textured and game ready. Post screengrabs on forums, discord art groups and get as many eyes as you can to see your work and feedback it. There good free tutorials on Youtube from Tim Bergholz for beginners with whole process.

Since you aim for making worlds, get a small environment concept art piece that you think will be fun. Everyone has there own way to tackle them but here are some pointers-

1) Blockout of the environment from basic shapes then exporting it to any free game engine. Unreal or Unity.
    2) Move around and look for what fits and what doesn't. Scale is very important factor while making environments, so getting human scale template in Maya and modeling props accordingly is crucial in making believable worlds.
    3) There will be a lot of back and forth to get things right after this stage but once you're set, start fleshing out blockouts to props, adding/tweaking lights.