Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Review for 3D Environment and Props Artist in games.

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
thiva32 polycounter lvl 5
Hello everyone, :) 

I'm a Bachelor in Games Design and Animation student, i'm about to graduate my school by beginning of 2019. I will be going for my internship in a month time. I have been learning 3d art for 1+ year. I have been self taught in all kind of workflows involving modelling , uv-unwrapping , texturing and some game engine knowledge as well. I just completed a portfolio piece which is a Old Vintage Garage. It took me 2 weeks to create this environment. I need some feedback's and critique so that i can improve based on that. 

Thanks in advance. 
Here is a link to my portfolio https://tzar.artstation.com/ 

Replies

• cjwidd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cjwidd polycounter lvl 2

Your garage environment is a reasonable first effort for a self-taught artist. There are a variety of different considerations to make when presenting your work, but when showcasing an environment, lighting and composition are very important. 

Most artists will acknowledge that reference gathering is a crucial first step to modeling. Comparing your work to reference images of other garages might help to manage its proportions better.

Lighting an interior space is often more challenging than lighting and outdoor space; using emissive surfaces can sometimes complicate that process. The intensity of emissive light can sometimes be difficult to manage for nearby surfaces.

Practical architectural considerations (e.g. support columns) help communicate realism. I would consider how the second-floor layout is supported by the first floor without any support columns.

Most of the props in the scene are cloned and re-scaled. Without sufficient texture variation, the repeating elements becomes obvious and create a homogeneous appearance.