Home Technical Talk

Best game development software without using code

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
salimmatta polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys,

I'm an artist and i'm pretty interested to start my own Metroidvania  game project. But again, I don't code, so in your opinion which is the best game dev software that requires no coding in order to create a Metroidvania  game? 

I'm using Buildbox, I think it is somehow executable in it, but id love to hear more opinions on the subject :)

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Unreal has blueprints for scripting anything without a single line of code. its node based, the learning curve is great in my opinion. I can't code either, except for a little hlsl, but I made many game prototypes and tools using blueprints in Unreal.
  • Dash-POWER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dash-POWER polycounter lvl 6
    If you are planning to create a simple game then blueprints are ok. I think the only disadvantage with blueprints is their speed - UE4 case. Don't know how it's with Unity. Heavy raycasing, massive multiplayer and such things shouldn't be done through BPs, but I would say UE4 has very good base for non coder devs.
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Yeah the speed of bp isn't that great, but for simpler tasks it should do it just fine. You could also nativize your blueprints which should minimize the this problem. Here is a speed comparison between blueprints, c++, and nativized blueprints speed.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gVixDglpQ4
  • Dash-POWER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hmm. Thanks. I didn't know about that. :smiley: I'm surprised that there is way how to boost BP speed to almost C++ speed.
  • poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter