Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Stylized Texturing Weapons [Student Work]

Litcdw
null
Offline / Send Message
Litcdw null
Im currently a student working on stylized texturing for a class. I am having quite a bit of trouble with it. So if anyone can please point me in a good direction of how to quickly learn this texturing process? Or how what one tackle a project similar to this? Plus, I would also like UV layout advise as well please!

Below are images of my current projects:

https://litcdw.artstation.com/

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Listen to my friend, Dylan's, substance painter crash course video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhBVsn2tfGc

You also seem to be rendering it in a 3D viewport of a 3D package instead of a game eengine or real-time rendering engine that can do beauty shots.  Download Unreal, unity, or Toolbag and get your beauty shots done there.

• LokiDokie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LokiDokie polycounter lvl 7
    hi, 
    So i think your uvs are alright there's a lot of empty space that maybe you could expand your sets and fill it up, I'm not super great a uv advice.

I think your wood texture on the sheild is getting there i think you need to add some highlights and edge lighting to help add some contrast and make the weapon pop. On metal parts dont be afraid to add the white reflections and use the colour dodge layer to help it beam and shine, it'll help your metal stand out as a different materail, which i think is a big problem your having is that all your materials look the same. 
    I don't know what your references are like but when I do gold i usually make it very yellowy/orange colour (much more saturated), for metals i usually add a blue hue as you generally don't want it to be grey.