Home Career & Education

should i learn to code? or just keep "arting"?

skern55
null
Offline / Send Message
skern55 null
Hey everyone, 

I am having an existential crisis lately to the point where I almost enrolled in a computer science masters program, but realized I am getting ahead of myself. A little background of myself, I graduated from a fine art program that encourages experimentation on things like animation, video and sound. I realized during my last semester that I wanted to go into the cg industry, but do not have a lot of formal education on it. I took classes in maya, for environments and lighting and modeling as well as Zbrush. But that is about it. I have been applying to jobs for motion graphics, and basically anything for computer related art. I have noticed ( i really hope i dont sound like douche ) that just about anything that I try out, I seem to get so deeply focused on whatever it is, that I excel and learn it. Such as the Zbrush class, in which my professor told me repeatedly that I had the best model when it was my first character modeling class ever. Anyways, I am not sure if I should continue in that route, and keep pumping out models on my own with the hopes of snagging a modeling job , or should I learn to program? I have always been interested in learning to code, and heard mixed things about artist/programmer hyrbids. I feel like I could really enjoy programming for maya, and maybe just make it easier to do things in those programs in general or even just become a software developer? I have been looking into coding bootcamps, specifically ones that teach c++ and python. What is everyones thoughts on learning to program for this industry and beyond? So sorry for the long post. Anyone that replies would be a real help . Each way I go is a huge commitment, and I dont want to waste too much more time like I already did in my fine art school. also my portfolio website is stephen-kern.com. legit there is no focus on one thing, just a littl