Home Career & Education

best metaphors/analogies to explain what you do to laypeople/older relatives/etc.?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Kaine123 polycounter lvl 10
so for me when my grandparents or other less computer/game oriented folks ask me about what I do for a living (env art/etc.) i usually explain that it's like how films need people to make props and sets for the actors to interact with but instead it's on a computer and the props and sets for a video game. a way i got my grandfather to understand specifically was by comparing environment art to building model train scenery which was something he had experience with.

when ive had people ask more specifically how 3d models/materials/environments are made it's difficult to explain without using technical terms, how do you usually do it?

Replies

• YellowSub
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    YellowSub polycounter lvl 7
    That's a good explanation. I will usually say I'm working in 3d animation studio. In my area, lay people think game industry is the same as online gambling or something else with negative connotation. A game studio I was working in had even been raided once by local police since people nearby were suspicious it was an online gambling place.  :#
  • JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    My go to excuse is "Make stuff look like Pixar". 

Even though 99% the stuff I'm doing is not a cartoon, but it's the closest mainstream word to describe 3D. Kinda like how people still call every game system a Nintendo. 
  • Taylor Brown
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Taylor Brown ngon master