Home Career & Education

Help Needed to Move Forward

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
BrygidSoul polycounter lvl 2
Hi everybody!

I'm a 27 year old, self taught artist in need of advice. I never went to school for art (couldn't afford it) So I worked really hard to improve on my own. I would really like to become a 2D concept artist some day.
I've come a long way, yes, but I have a very long way to go. Particularly with digital painting. Here are some of my pieces:

https://danamariesketches.wordpress.com

I'm now at a point where I hear and understand what the videos and books are saying, but implementing them into my artwork has gotten so difficult lately. Everything I do looks very amateurish. Because of this, I'm wondering if school is the best option. I'm in debt after a failed attempt at a comic book trade-school so I have to be very careful what school I choose if I do decide to go. I've tried to ask questions and I tried to do research, but I either got "Sorry, it's not my field" or "If you want advice you need to donate to my Patreon or other". Both very understandable, but a little frustrating in my position.
I guess what I need advice on is whether school is the best decision, what school, if there is a better alternative, or if I should find a new occupation altogether.

Sorry if this sounds like I'm rambling. It was difficult trying to put this into words.

Thank you!

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    no worries, most artists hit this wall when they are starting out. I actually really like your 2 linework images in your set of work you posted. as a self taught artist myself I will chime in with my biggest advice off the top of my head.

here is how I would approach this moving forwards: