Home Career & Education

Is crashing geometry acceptable for game assets?

ngon master
Offline / Send Message
Taylor Brown ngon master
This might be a glaring hole in my self taught education, but is it ok or the norm to crash geometry? Does it hurt a portfolio piece if you do it?

I've been under the impression that models needed to be airtight. That could be because I read up a lot on 3D printing and I know its necessary there so I assumed it was across the board.

Replies

• Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    Sorry, but what do you mean with 'crash geometry'? I haven't heard that term, so I might misunderstand it.

Generally speaking 3D printing and 3D modelling for games or film do have little to nothing in common besides ZBrush or other programms used. While 3D prints don't really care about topology, optimzed meshes for games or movies do very much. And while prints require airtight pieces, game and movies only care about what is seen (a very simplified statement ;) ).
  • CrackRockSteady
    I have also never heard that term before but if Biomag is right and you're asking about welding geometry vs separate elements, there was a thread recently where the pros and cons of each method were discussed:  http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2627351

The short answer is that the method you will want to use is highly dependent on the use of the model and the goal of the project.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    in most cases its gonna be fine, don't over think it. if you have a model with a ton of chunky bolts actually modeled all over the surface, cutting each of them into the underlying surface is going to be way too time consuming and will massively increase your tri count for zero visual results.