Home Career & Education

Lack of direction and needing others' opinion

vertex
Offline / Send Message
maiu vertex
I really need some constructive criticism and opinion about my portfolio. i want to understand what i need to improve and if i'm good at anything at all.

I studied game development and 3D low poly modeling and finished last year but it was lacking in many ways and we didn't learn enough.

The game industry in my country is almost non existent and if there is a job it's only for senior positions, hence why I'm trying to find a job in another country, especially in Europe. I keep looking for Internships and Junior positions but i don't have a good enough sense of where i am skill wise, what i should work on most to improve, if i'm better at 2D or 3D and I've been thinking whether i have potential at all.. so getting opinions from others would really help me.

Any encouraging word, a tip or advice could help me lots at this point honestly.

Replies

• sinnart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sinnart polycounter lvl 5
    You're quite good at drawing, and have a good sense of proportion. If you go a little further, I think you'd become a pretty good Character Artist, but you should first improve your low poly modeling and texturing skills. If I were in your position, I'd show the low poly topology and textures in all your characters, I would also delete the Old Fisherman, the Game Assets, the Sci-Fi Prop, and the Beastlord Sword, take better renders of the Engine Blade, and try to make some high quality 3D assets (that might help enhance your current characters).
    I particularly liked "Aloa", you're doing a really good job on her :)
  • Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    Your portfolio screams student in every way possible.
    1. No clear direction - 2D, 3D, enviroment, props, characters all thrown together...
    2. Unfinished pieces
    3. High polys and unoptimized low polys