Home Career & Education

Those who are self-taught, tricks to self-discipline? 1+ year and not satisfied with results.

jiggywattart
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
jiggywattart polycounter lvl 5
I've read a lot of posts here on staying motivated but personally there's only so much motivation can do for me. It's the lack of discipline that's been kicking my ass. 

I'm not a lazy person. I graduated college last year with honors and a 3.9 GPA in biochem while holding a couple jobs-- but learning on my own with no criteria, no homework, no exams, no courses, no concrete path, no instructors who instantly answer questions, no study groups... I can go to sleep whenever I want, work on whatever I want, make excuses or give up whenever I hit a roadblock or feel tired of the project. I've made multiple schedules I tried to follow but with no repercussions, I've just neglected them after a while.

I feel helpless! Learning on my own is WAAAY different from being fed material through instructions built off a digestible path.

I feel a large part of it is that I'm literally on my own. No one I know personally is remotely related to any artistic career. My family doesnt support me. I've joined various internet forums (not this one yet, forgive me!) and discord channels, but it's not the same as a classroom setting where I'm almost forced to find a few study buddies (who are at my same level of knowledge) to partner up with and depend on to prepare for an exam.

Anyone have any experience on self-discipline who can share some secrets? I swear, if I had the option of having someone threaten my life with a crowbar on a daily basis to force me to not slack, I'd choose it. But the slacking is so tempting when there's no fire under my ass.

Replies

• Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth
    First, join competitions. That'll give you a some structure to work with. An Artstation competition just started; go join that.