Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game Artist Portfolio - critique and advice, please

null
Offline / Send Message
ninaneco null
Hello my name is Lisa. I graduated in Oct 2016 as Game Artist at the Games Academy and couldn't get an internship until now. I would love to get some advice and critique to improve my portfolio.

I want to start as generalist at indie studios and my main skills are in 2D Concept art (character and environment) and 3D character and prop creation.

https://www.artstation.com/ninaneco 
Please point me in the right direction.

Replies

• Gannon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Gannon interpolator
    It's great that you've got an interest in so many different areas, but pick one and get really good at it. Right now your 2d and your 3D are on about the same level.

Since your focus is mainly 2D concept art - Keep studying anatomy and showing you understand edge quality/material definitions. For your secondary skills I'd really show off that you can texture, lay out proper UVs and understand good polygon distribution for 3D objects. Get good at 3D characters OR props, don't try to do both unless they relate specifically to the character you're trying to create.

Specific notes about your portfolio would be - Your 3d prop models have issues with topology/normal map errors. Your character concept work is really fun and shows a good range of styles that all read reasonably clear. Show some illustrations/environment/prop concepts that are industry level, if they're not - remove them.

A generalist rule of thumb rant incoming