Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Momonga - overlord fan art

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
LokiDokie polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys I've been trying to work on my character design a bit more and getting back into modelling ( I've taken a massive break after I got my first artist job). 
It's been really difficult making him so far and I'm not feeling the love I have for my other characters (which is weird because I love part of his designs in the show) I really want to finish him so I can move onto the texturing stages, I wanted to go for a hand painted style. I have a weird fear of not being unique enough so I tend to change parts of concepts and try and add my own take to it, it might be because I studied as a concept artist where your always trying to be the next best idea. It just means I tend to not work from concepts a lot (D: whyyyy, I know I should).
If you've got any feedback or advice for me about him I'd love to hear it and I'd be super grateful.
Thanks.

The current stage am at.

refs for anyone who doesn't know who Momonga is :) also a really rubbish sketch to help my ideas flow

A quick draw over I did after getting the base shapes in so I could refine them and help with more of my idea generation.

Replies

• LokiDokie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    quick update to where I am. I've decided to go back to the original anime design. Next I think I'll shrink the thigh guards so he doesn't look so short D:
  • PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    Well, I don't know how practical they are, but the pointy fingers/nails gauntlets concept is quite common, and would fit the theme of this character.

• Nihilus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nihilus polycounter lvl 8
    Thats looking really cool, the style kind of reminds me of Nightmare from Soul Calibur. Looking forward to seeing where this goes! 
    Though I agree with you that proportionally his legs/arms look a bit short.