Home Technical Talk

3d-modeling software - where to start?

cjpeg
null
Offline / Send Message
cjpeg null
Hello,

I am completely new in 3d-modeling software, could someone explain what 3d-modeling software should I start to learn?
However, I read some forums and found that:
- Maya is bad for 3d-modeling, but ideal for animation;
- many people dislike Blender for no particular reason;
- Modo is the best 3d-modeling software, but hard to start with;
- 3D-Max is old and everyone abandons it.

Should I start learning Modo or something different?
Could someone explain me which software is good for starter like me?

And I have a friend who is working as a 3d-modelier, he works in Modo and ZBrush. But I barely contact him so he could teach me nothing.

Help please.

Replies

• PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    Depends, do you want to do it professionally (as in to make money) or just for fun? What kind of 3D art do you want to make?

If you just want to do it for fun then there's no reason to spend tons of money, Blender can take care of most of the things you'd want to do in 3D, and free versions of game engines (UE4/Unity) + free or cheap Texturing/Painting tools the rest (Krita/GIMP are free, and Substance Designer+Painter are $20 a month).

If your goal is to make money from it though, you'll want to first figure out what area you'll be focusing on before choosing a (normally very expensive) program.

• LaurentiuN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LaurentiuN interpolator
    I suggest try 3ds max, it has an easy learning curve and has a lot of premium free tutorials over the internet. After that you can try other 3d packages.
  • Grusti
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Grusti polycounter lvl 10
    Maya, Zbrush, Photoshop.
    You can't miss with this three. A lot of information and workflows about whole aspect of this programs you can find online