Home Technical Talk

Question about animation

Pimpek5555
node
Hey, I'm new in CG world and there is lots of things for me to learn. I have one question: After animating the base mesh how to project a high poly sculpted detailed model to it? I assume it can be seen only after rendering, yes? 

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    First, it helps to mention what software you are using so people can get specific with details and terms. Otherwise we have to guess, speak generally or list all of the ways you can do things in all of the apps...

Usually the projection is done before the mesh reaches the animation phase, because that could require tweaks to the geometry and proportions of the model and those types of changes can cause a lot of headaches, but it can be dealt with.

Normally the baking would be done on a copy of the model, it doesn't need to be done on the rigged model. You don't want to be doing these operations on the rigged version because it could cause a really dirty history/transforms on the model that will affect animation, so copy it and operate on that copy. This frees you up to not worry about the rigging so you can to take the mesh into other apps and bake textures, paint details, whatever.

If the UV's haven't changed on the low poly then you simply apply the new materials, done!

If UV's changed but topology and geometry didn't change, you can save the UV's from the copied version and load them onto your rigged model.

If the geometry changed a little but didn't cause a significant proportional change that causes you to move the skeleton around, then you can transfer maps (maya) / Render To Texture (max) from one low poly to the other.
    OR... 
    You can import your new low poly, bind it to the skeleton and transfer/copy the skin weights from the old low poly to the new.