Home Career & Education

How can I practice drawing?

I recently discovered ctrlpaint.com, and I'm currently working through each section step by step. I'm a programmer by trade, and this is a skill i'd like to cultivate on the side. I know perfect practice makes perfect, so I want to make sure I'm practicing in a way that will give me meaningful growth every time. Ultimately, I'd like to be able to draw weapons, and environments. It feels like a stupid question because the most obvious answer is "just draw bro". Is following ctrl paint sufficient? How should I use the content? All of the videos are very short, so I could run through the one exercise and move on. But it doesn't seem adequate if that makes any sense. My current plan is to work through all of the exercises, and hope that puts me in a good spot fundamentally to practice on my own without any tutorials. Is this a good idea?

Any tips on how I should maximize my consumption of this content would be most appreciated. 

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    You could look for workshops/night schools in your area, and they might have drawing classes. Although this might be more useful for trying to draw people. You can find still life objects in your home or take time out of your day and travel to the park, zoo etc and draw nature.

Search online for additional drawing resources. I loved reading Handprints guide to perspective. There's a wealth of knowledge to be found on that site.
    https://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/tech10.html

But the really short answer is you really just have to draw non-stop. It's the only way your brain will learn to pick up on all the tiny details that leads to consistency in your work vs repeating amateur mistakes from lack of experience.
  • definitelynotacat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN said: