Home Career & Education

which challenge platform for those new to the industry? (artstation challenge, art war, etc?)

I'm a student artist who will soon be graduating in concept art and i heard online challenges was a good way to learn and gain exposure. i work mostly in environments but do a bit of character work too. i've never taken part in a challenge before so i wanted to know what's the difference and which ones were best to join? 

or, if it depends, what does it depend on? 

i know a lot of this will be subjective but i appreciate whatever you guys can add. 

Replies

• dGreenberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter
    Hey @finchrupert! I think it can be as simple as knowing what sites are better known by online art communities or which ones do a yearly or monthly (or once in a while) challenge. ArtStation, Cubebrush, and Polycount have contests now and again, so I would keep an eye on their forums, twitters, or facebook pages and wait for the next big event to start. There are a lot of other sites out there (so it never hurts to do some google searches if you want to see what's going on), but those 3 might be the big powerhouses with the most active communities right now. 

If there are a bunch of contests taking place at once, maybe choose one with a theme or topic you're most excited about. If it's a contest or challenge that you know about (and the site hosting the challenge has it's share of artists and hobbyists), you could still get something great out of it from participating. 
  • sacboi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range
    Yeah, for eyeball traction alongside pushing your skills beyond the comfort zone, I'd agree with @dGreenberg's list of 3D hubs, they're generally I find the most active in regards to art comps.  
  • finchrupert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message