Home Technical Talk

About making roughness map

tka94
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
tka94 null
Hi
I finished work at zbrush and i brought to substance painter and then i got a problem about roughness map
I want to make different roughness at scratches if i can make height map using normal map or other substance painter tool
I will make roughness map but i don't know how make it

ps i'm not good at english i hope you understand what i need

Please teach me 

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Put bright values where you want things to be rough.
    Put dark values where you want things to be smooth/shiny.

That's it !
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    pior said:
    Put bright values where you want things to be rough.
    Put dark values where you want things to be smooth/shiny.

That's it !
    If you're using substance painter this doesn't apply because that's not how the workflow works. 

What you do in substance painter is change the roughness values on the layer you want to edit

here's a picture of the layer controls in substance painter:

see where it says "rough"? that means that this layer changes the roughness. You can click on these to turn off (or on) the inputs for the different types of maps. Below this there should be a slider which you can use to set the roughness for that specific layer. 

What you want to do is find where your scratches are in the layer stack and edit the roughness values for that layer. 

When you output your images substance painter will automatically separate out all the roughness information and create a roughness map for you.

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Of course - but an understanding of the maps themselves and the understanding of an automated tool to create them are not mutually exclusive things :)