Home Career & Education

Can anyone answer some informational questions?

eSwirl
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
eSwirl null
Hi Everyone, my name is Sam, and I'm a college student majoring in Digital Art at Cañada College in Redwood City, CA. Your career path is very inspirational to me: I don’t know very many people in this industry. As an aspiring artist, I’d love to learn more about which skills you’ve used the most and what you’d expect from an entry-level employee in your department. I’m sure you’re busy, so even 20 minutes would be greatly appreciated. Can anyone answer some informational questions? You can just reply on this post.

Here are the questions I want to ask about.

1. What company are you working right now and can I have your title at that company?
 2. What are the duties performed during a typical day? How much variety is there on a day-to-day basis?
 3. Which skills are most important to acquire?
 4. What are the main, or most important, personal characteristics for success in the field?
 5. What are the demands and frustrations that typically accompany this type of work?
 6. What are the toughest problems and decisions with which you must cope?
 7. How would you describe the atmosphere/culture of the workplace?
 8. What do you see as the potential for growth in this field?
 9. What can I do now to help me find employment in this field?
 10. What do you like about your career and what don't you like about it?

Thanks so much again for your consideration, and in advance, for any insight and advice you would be willing to share.

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    1) Character Artist, InXile Entertainment
    2) Making character art related assets.  A lot of variety of different tasks given InXIle's scale.  I've done blueprint scripting, mocap performance, rigging and animating, etc.
    3) You need to specify the question more.
    4) Discipline