Home Career & Education

Need advice trying to decide what path to take 3D modeling

Shinji2009
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Shinji2009 polycounter lvl 3
Hey guys,

I am going to full sail University and I am studying video game art. I am at the point now where in my classes I can choose to model props or environment such as building etc. I am having a hard time deciding what to do. I really really enjoy making props such as guns, armor, etc but a bunch of people I know in the industry are telling me there isn't a specific prop artist role and that it just fall under environmental artist. My question is should I continue making props and enjoy it or should I attempt to focus more on the buildings and environmental aspects? Would it be harder for me to land a job if I am primarily focusing on props? Here is a link to my art station.

Artstation.com/shinji_graphix

Replies

• BucketOfNuggets
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BucketOfNuggets polycounter lvl 6
    Go with props, it is what you enjoy, can always pivot later.

I'd say it would be a lot easier to land a prop job as your first gig.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    If you are going to go the props route, make sure you are making complex "hero" props. I see a lot of jr artists filling their portfolio full of fire hydrants, crates, mailboxes, wine barrels etc. and then wondering why the can't get a job.