Home Career & Education

Art test from AAA studios, have some questions

node
Offline / Send Message
D_Choi node
Hi all, I recently submitted my first art test to an AAA studio in Canada, and got another test from other studio today. So, my first test was likeness head from a picture reference with texture map in 4 days. I had to work all day but I managed to finish it and they're letting me know the result in this week. Another test I got today, is asking me upper torso of an realistic character model/texture under 3000 tri in unity scene with 20 hours of work time (but sending the model is until next Monday so I have about 5 days of time). I have no experience in Unity so I guess I have to figure it out, but I have few questions as I'm still a noob here. Does upper torso means everything up from the hip area including arms? And I have never done any character with this low poly, I guess hair card is not an option for the hair to make a character in this way, so any suggestion how to do it? For the last, what is it means, [demonstrate a good skinning understanding (can use a pre-made/generic humanoid skeleton)] Are they saying I have to do skinning on the model or just talking about topology?

I feel a bit overwhelmed as I didn't get any concept or an image of what to make, there was just few words of concept description. 

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    I'd contact them back and ask for a bit more info on what they're looking for. Upper torso means the chest and shoulders, yeah? I'd make sure they're not wanting more.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    1) About the torso, email them and ask.  If they're reasonable, they will specify.