Home Career & Education

Is it possible to say no to work overtime, and still keep the job?

Boyani
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Boyani vertex
During my experience as software developer, i had couple of times from me to work overtime, which i know that i will not will be payed.I kinda find the strength and good reason to not work overtime, but still finish everything in 8h work a day, maybe sometimes 9h and half. For doing that, i find top managers really respect me and my decision, and never ever let them down, for not meeting a deadline or whatever i was tasked for.

But, i always wanted to work in video games or VFX or maybe both, and create something. Since, i left software engineering, i started learning 3D, every day for 10h, and i feel exhausted  every next day. And, i started to ask more people, from Linkedin and ArtStation about crunching, everyone have own opinion, but they all say i should i avoid studios that practice too much crunch time. I have no idea which one to avoid:D

Have you sometimes refused to do overtime? What was your manager reaction, and what happened  next?
Can i do that, and still keep the job?
Can i negotiate before sign a contract, how many hours to work, before sign?
I hope i did not offended someone.

Replies

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    saw this on facebook the other day. Pretty spot on.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sBNHvx8Vc6M

long story short, you should do what you are comfortable with and make no apologies about having a life outside of work. People holding the fact some others have a life or families outside of work is a great recipe for creating a toxic work environment, and a horrible company culture.