Home Technical Talk

Solid Modelling - Modelling for machining

Starboxx
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Starboxx polycounter lvl 11
Hi guys !

I make carbon fiber parts, mostly for cars. Up until now, i have made my molds by hand, either copying/modifying some existing parts, or sculpting some models out of foam. But recently, i decided it was time to stop doing the molds by hand, and have them milled, for a question of speed and quality over price.

I don't know if anyone here is "fluent" at modelling stuff for machining, or with softwares like Solidworks or Fusion360, but the machinist i contacted required that i provide some models from Solidworks or some "Solid" models.

After having played around evaluation versions of Solidworks and Fusion, i realised how hard it is to model complex shapes with this type of 3D. I have always been used to polygon modelling, since i've been playing around 3D since around 2005, but i find it extremely tedious and complicated to model with CAD softwares.

So, i was wondering if any of you guys have some tips to model some shapes like vehicle bodywork based on photogrammetry scans, or if there are ways to convert/remodel some subdivision polygon modelling? I wish i could just model my molds in standard 3D packages but it is not the case, as the machines need some sort of "mathematical models" to be able to understand the 3D.

Anyhow, if any of you is familiar with modelling for machining and/or CAD softwares, i would greatly appreciate some tips on modelling workflows to create complex shapes a bit less "parametric".

Thank-you !

Replies

• Andy_3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andy_3d vertex
    What about Rhino? I know it has tools for detailed modelling/ designing and there are users who use it to prepare models for 3d printers.
  • jaker3278
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jaker3278 polycounter lvl 8