Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Creative Contest 2017 Riot Creative Contest 2017 - Illustration

[Riot Creative Contest 2017] Evelynn splash WIP

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
novekai vertex

Hi guys, I'm new to Polycount and I'm happy to share my progress with you! Feedback and critics are welcome and courage. I chose to paint Evelynn for this creative contest. I like how she manipulate for foes with seduction just to torment them. so badass!!

Here's some references I gathered for her along with a few thumbnails.(I learned from knkl about blank pages)  In the thumbnails, I focused more on the composition and dynamic posing. I came up with more thumbnails, but these were the best out of them. From the references, I really like her killing someone in the background. It was a nice way to tell her story and show off her powers.

In the end, I chose the bottom thumbnail. I really liked the idea of her blades making a heart in the back with two men being punctured through the chest. (sorry guys) Created three more thumbnails playing with the light source.

Cleaned up the rough drawing a bit. I also make evelynn slightly bigger to add depth to the scene. I wasn't sure what the left hand was doing by her face.(our left) So I changed the position slightly to rest on her breast. I also changed the hand on the hip.....wasn't feeling that position. I wanted something more dynamic. It was hard to making the blades make sense coming out of her upper back. I altered it a bit but now it doesn't make a heart like I wanted. Imma change that. In the meantime, I added clouds and defined the light source more.

Added rough color with some rough silhouettes in the background. Not sure if I want them to be building or a forest yet.

The long rendering process begins! It's a habit of mine to render the face first...it sadly encourage me to work on a painting. This rendering session was purely focused on evelynn herself.