Home Technical Talk

3ds Max/Unity Normal Issue with Trim Texture | Probably Tangent Basis Problem

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Dividuum polycounter lvl 6
Hello, fellow Polycounters!
until now I was usually able to fix my 3D issues by myself, but on this one, I did not found a satisfying solution. Warning: It's going to be a long post.

To give you a little background: I am a student & environment artist and currently working on an environment for a VR game in Unity. My problem occured, as I made environment modules and tried to use and combine some new workflows and techniques I've learned over the last year. My goal was:
- to make modules with chamfered edges & face weighted normals which
- are sharing atlasses for general textures and
- have another UV channel, with which I throw some fancy trim sheet details on my modules.

Here is a picture of my modules in unity:

The problem occured in the third point, my trim sheet. I was making the highpoly details and baked them with xNormal on a plane which looks like that:

Now my thought was, that I could simply go into my uv1 channel, drag the uv islands on top of the trims (like I saw in every post about using trimsheets) and everything will be fine. But as I was looking on the results in Unity, the shading of my trim sheet details were partially wrong. Here you can see an image of my test box.

In the first picture, you see one side, which seems to be shaded right in 3ds Max, even if an omni light instead of default scene lighting. It was one face, which I gave an inset and the insetted part was turned around 180° in the UV, but uses the same part of the normal map. When I had a look at it in Unity (second image), you can see, that the insetted part is shaded wrong: the shadows seem to point into the wrong (opposite!) direction. The shadows of the inner section are at the left and upper rim, but should be at the right and lower edge, like in the outer section.