Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First pbr asset

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
bystry polycounter lvl 3
Hi as in topic it will be my first pbr asset. I have some experience with 3d sculpting, architectural visualizations, and some handpainted 3d textures, but I never did something to use in a pbr based game. I want to try combining my skills and see what can I achieve. I'm going to do game asset based on the concept for a dishonored2 game. I'm using a blender for base mesh and retopo and UVs, ZBrush for sculpting, because I am quite familiar with this soft. New for me is substance painter where I'm going to bake normals and prepare textures and materials for the piece.
So far I did high poly mesh and some lo poly mesh, please tell me if you see some issues. For me it's working quite well, but I'm not as experienced in this field as you guys. Next step will be UV unvrapping and some tests to bake normals.

concept:

Replies

• bystry
    Offline / Send Message
    bystry polycounter lvl 3
    Hi, quite long since the last update but I have a bunch of images and question for you guys. I decided to give up on proper UV, since it's my first model I would rather focus on baking and create some nice material, I started adding some materials also. I think I need some more knowledge about proper baking before I will be able to optimize UVs and meshes.  So there is the first problem I stepped with this problem and I'm not sure how can I fix it. There are some surfaces that should be flat but program place normals like it will be round surface. I tried to mark hard edges and tried to play with smooth groups but I am not sure I understand enough to do it properly. Thanks for any feedback.

• Ged
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    looks good to me
  • bystry
    Offline / Send Message
    bystry polycounter lvl 3
    It was some issues with normals, I added some extra sharp edges and now it seems to be fine. there is final version.

modemode