Home Career & Education

Career advice

Sareth93
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Sareth93 null
Hi,
I'm in need of a little bit of life advice here. This is going to be long as I want to cover everything of importance so you get a good understanding of who I am and where in life. If it's too long or boring for you to read I apologize but I would be happy for every advice I get.

I am a 24-year-old student of "media informatics" in Germany.

After my A-level-graduation from school I have started an apprenticeship as "IT management assistant" at a renown national warehouse store.  I found it very lacking as all I was doing was basically "supporting others doing the real work".

I decided to continue my education by studying media informatics. The reason for me to do this is I wanted to get more in-depth knowledge and also find an area that I really love and am passionate about. I chose this because I hoped it would combine my talent for IT with my passion for design and media. 

So I started uni and began searching for my passion. As I started out and during the first year or so, I was certain it would be programming, though I wasn't sure yet if it was software programming or web programming. I knew I had a natural talent to this, but somehow there was no real drive for me to educate myself beyond the uni stuff. The more complex it got in uni, the less interested I was in it. Again, lack of passion obviously, despite talent.

The, we got a course of "graphical data processing", which was basically 3D modeling. That is where it "clicked" in my head. I started to learn in my freetime not because I needed to, but because I thought "Hey I want to be able to do that" and "How does this work, how can I achieve that". 

I always loved design. When programming, now that I look back at it, the most fun part wasn't writing the code but rather creating a visually pleasing and intuitive UI, web designs and user experience.