Home Technical Talk

Dont reinvent the wheel -- A quick method for shrink wrapping pre-made body parts to hi-res meshes

grand marshal polycounter
Online / Send Message
Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
I am sure this is not a novel technique, but I haven't seen it described anywhere so I thought I would share.

How I came up with the technique:

After working on retopology for the first time, I found the process to be egregiously time consuming. Probably the biggest reason is because I am not very good at rerouting topology and thus spend a lot of time chasing down n-gons and triangles...anyway, I spent a lot of time doing trial and error with the shrink wrap deformer in Maya trying to speed up the process for the hands.

First I tried just shrinking cyclinders onto the fingers, but then I still had to use quad draw to connect up the hands. I imagine a pro modeler could do this with their eyes closed, but even that will still take a bit of time. Finally, after looking around online for references of clean hand topology (and not just clean, but well set-up for animation too), I realized that there was probably hundreds of models, many for free, that I could simply just download and use. Somebody else has already done the hard work, why reinvent the wheel, right?

But, of course, these generic models won't fit yours just exactly. It's just that nice topology you want to apply to your model. So here is how I did that.

The Technique (Maya 2018):

Bring your low-poly, premade hand model (or whichever part you are doing) into your scene. You can either make that yourself and save it to a library, or you can probably find one online depending on what it is.

To get it front and center on the hi-res mesh you'll be copying it to, have the move tool engaged (press W), hold V, and wiggle the cursor over any vertices on the high res mesh. Your currently selected object will snap to that point.