Home Career & Education

Third Year student, looking for Dissertation Ideas

Etherblock
null

Hey guys. I'm a third year student, and I have to come up with an idea for my Dissertation. I want to do something about 3D modelling or Games in general. I want some ideas from anyone that's willing to contribute. Note: i'm studying Animation and VFX and I am choosing 3D modelling and VFX as my career path.

Here's the thing though. I do want to do 3D modelling and such, but I mainly want to be a games designer. With the choice that I made in regards to my course at university, it doesn't relate to anything Game design based aside from the 3D animation and modelling and everything else that goes into the actual visualisation of a game (sorry I don't know how else to explain what I think). I'm Looking for an idea that will help me make the transition, Even if it means having to do an internship after my graduation. If you are wondering why I didn't just change course, When i decided that I wanted to do something different, it was already too late to change, and i couldn't start from the beginning due to funding issues with Student Finance (that's who funds the university tuition fees in the UK). 

This has had an effect on my studies since I got told that I could change course, and then due to the funding issues, i had to transfer back to my animation course and I was 4 weeks behind everyone else because of that. That's not important, Just mentioning it to say that I don't have a lot of time on my hands to learn something like Unity or Unreal engine etc. I'd love to, But with my job and all the work that i've missed i do not think it's possible, we are currently in week 7 of the semester.

I am passionate about games. And to some extent, about 3D modelling.