Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My stuff (Zbrush sculpts and Game assets)

Starboxx
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Starboxx polycounter lvl 11
Hi guys !

I have been reading this forum for years but have never really posted anything.
I am "self taught" (should i say Internet taught?) belgian 3D hobbyist, and i like to make game assets for fun.

I recently started an UE4 game project with two friends, and it boosted my motivation to improve. The background of the project is around Pirates, and i started modelling a ship. The idea was to make it so you could walk on the different decks with a character in third person.
We are going for a "Fantasy" ship (by this i mean just not a replica of a pirate-era ship), but still inspired from ship designs that i like. Basically, what i am trying to do is to put into 3D my "kid" mental representation of what would be a Pirate Ship. I did a lot of research on what i liked and what i didn't, and this oriented my design. I found this part quite hard to acheive, beceause it is hard to draw in 2D with as much details as needed, and when starting directly in 3D, i ended up with blocky shapes that were "creatively" restrecting me. Then came the idea of maybe concepting it in Virtual Reality, and that's what i did, to have a "blockout" of the shape. Here are my first designs of Stern Gallery (wich is the part i was focusing on) , done in Gravity Sketch :

Then, i started sculpting and texturing a little part of the ship to kind of figure out how i would bring this from concept to an exploitable asset in UE4 and see wich look i can aim to acheive. The great thing in Gravity Sketch is the ability to just bring some of the shapes into Zbrush, dynamesh it and start with this as a base mesh. Here are different steps and variations of this part :

And an earlier version in UE4 :