Home Unreal Engine

AO texture for multi mat mesh

Hi

I have a mesh with 7 materials. Each has its texture applied correctly in the material editor.

In 3ds max I mapped the uv's on the meshes second channel, and baked an ao texture.

Now I have this single ao texture, I am unsure how to apply it in unreal engine.

Help greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Assign the same ao texture into each material/material instance with the second channel applied.
  • Shockpuppet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok thank you I will give that a go.

As I'm new to unreal, what's the way to apply the second channel for the ao texture?....
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    put a texture coordinate node, select it, and on the details panel, you can set the coordinate index. Set it to 1 if you want second channel, 0 if you want first channel, etc. Then plug that into the UVs input of the texture.
  • Shockpuppet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you.

Wont doing it like this mean that the AO for my mesh is applied to the material (which the mesh is using), regardless of if i need to use this material for more than 1 mesh?

Let me clarify, what good is an AO for a material in this way if i need to use that material on multiple meshes? The AO will need to be different for each mesh, but the material needs to be the same because the meshes are sharing that. How do i achieve a unique AO per mesh?

(see i need to use that door texture on a few buildings, but each building mesh needs its own ao :S )
    I know the best solution is to make 1 material per building, and just use the AO like you said, but im after a multi material solution.

I worked on a custom engine a lot that besides the main diffuse material(s) it would need a single AO only material per mesh that only had the AO texture hooked up to it.
  • Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message