Home Unity

Character with changeable equipment.

Pioni
null
Offline / Send Message
Pioni null
Hello. Im very new to 3d modeling and im using Blender. Im modeling characters for a game and i tought i should ask for advice.
So i have done alot of googling and found many threads about this subject but did not find everything answered that i need.

I have modeled male and female playable characters with "starting" equipment/clothes. He and She has rig and some animations.
I plan on modeling clothing sets for the character, not individual parts of clothes but sets. I plan that the player can customize these clothing sets colours.

So how would you do this? Do i need to have the head separated from the body/clothes and switch to new object when other set is equipped? How about the colors? How should i organize UV maps should i have separate UV map for head and every set? And then make color maps for every available color combination? 

Please share with me how you would do this. Thanks!

Replies

• WiktorWasowski
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    WiktorWasowski polycounter lvl 3
    Not sure about your modeling issue - I don't do character modeling and I don't know techniques commonly used for equipment swapping, but I can tell you how I would approach the color customization. Two solutions come to my mind:

1. On your color texture of the character desaturate areas that are going to be colored by the player. Then create another texture which is going to be a greyscale mask for these areas. Simply paint white where the customizable parts are and black everything else. You can then modify the Unity's Standard Shader (or whichever you use) to additionally use your mask. You could utilize the existing color picker that tints the texture and change it so it only affects areas that are white on your mask. However, this approach requires some basic shader programming knowledge or a visual shader creation tool like Shader Forge or Amplify Shader Editor.