Home Career & Education

Lighting Portfolio Question

Kevinf1894
node
Hi everyone, I am a recent graduate and I am thinking about focusing on lighting. I know that what they care about most is basically scene composition and, of course, how the lighting looks. I want to do everything in UE4 but I was wondering if I should make my own assets and props or use other ones since I want the main focus to be how the lighting and post process effects look. Thanks!

Replies

• Bletzkarn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
    There's several directions you can go with this. You need to think what job title you will be taking. In my mind you have 3 options.

1. Environment Artist.
    2. Visualisation Artist.
    3. Technical Artist.

1. Environment Artist. 

This is the run of the mill game artist, for this application then yes, you will need to know how to make your own models and materials, and understand how to work from reference images and be able to match the mood and lighting of the concepts.

2. Visualisation Artist.

You will be focusing on Architectural visualisation. You will not be expected to make your own models and materials (however it helps a lot). You will push the engine to the upper limits to get the most photoreal finish possible. You will also need to be able to make images in traditional ray trace rendering software such as VRAY.

3. Technical Artist.

You write scripts and plugins that enhance the usability and functionality of the engine. For example UE4 has a locked frensel reflection ratio (adjusted with metal map) however certain materials (gemstones) have a frensel rating way out of the range possible by UE4. 

Which one sounds closest to your interests?
  • zetheros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    Hi Kevin,