Home Technical Talk

Need Help in creating Hair collision

Klight
null
Offline / Send Message
Klight null
Hi, I am fairly new to maya and I am currently lost in creating the process of creating hair collision for my model.  The tutorials I found  are outdated where user  apply "make collide" from  nhair to create hair collision.  However, I notice this technique is no longer viable in newer version of Maya. So how should I create hair collision? 

I have manage to used Maya bonus toll to create dynamic joint for my character pony tails
The outliner of my dynamic joint. 

However, this is where I'm completely lost,  I just cant seem to find a way in creating hair collision, as you can see from image below. The pony tail move straight through the  character arm. 

Expert guidance is really appreciated, Thank you

Replies

• throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi, have you checked the documentation? nHair can collide with any other nucleus object type.

http://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2018/ENU/?guid=GUID-BABBD1CE-C82C-4EDB-BBF6-4C0EBC854DAA
  • Klight
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Klight null
    @throttlekitty Hi, thank for the reply. I did checked the documentation but I ended up even more confuse. 

Problem encounter after reading through the mentioned and other guides I found on the internet,

1. Which  dynamic object should I assign to my character body (ncloth, nparticle, etc) 
    2. I try assigned a ncloth to my model body, it didn't go well. 
    3. I try using this method recommend by  a user from cg-society http://forums.cgsociety.org/archive/index.php?t-1393533.html. Assigning passive collider  and assign to my existing nucleus (the one in the image) to It , However, it only made my pony tails gone hay-wire. 
    4.  I have turn on every collision attribute from both nucleus and hair dynamic , yet it didn't work.