Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D Head Texture Help

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Sozril vertex
I am new to texturing in general, but I have wanted to create realistic heads for so long. I have watched several tutorials, getting the idea that the diffuse skin should have little to no shadows or highlights. But I was wondering, what is too much contrast in skin? For example, would this work? Or is this too much?

Thank you if anyone responds.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    There's way too much lighting and contrast. 
  • Sozril
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sozril vertex
    ZacD said:
    There's way too much lighting and contrast. 
    Okay, thank you.
  • Koromo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Koromo polycounter lvl 4
    @Sozril

Mmm...for me that image has a lot of highlights that can come great for making the specular/roughtness map but as a diffuse it won´t work.

The diffuse needs to be as flat as posible with minimal shading if you are aiming at a realistic result, if you´re going to a more handdraw/stylized it´s totally okay to have shading in the diffuse map.
    As fas as shadows, you can bake they down onto the diffuse or having it separately as an oclusion/cavity map.

The only use for diffuse with baked lighting in my point of view is when you´re scanning and you need the lesser amount of maps & you have a very good quality diffuse scanned.

And of course avoid any reflection in the eyes! 

You can try "shadows/highlights" that are located into Adjustment  menu in Photoshop or use a little bit of the burn tool to darken those highlight spots. Use the healing brush too for small zones.

Dirty example( bad painted eyes):

Other example: The last flat diffuse that i made with a little bit of cavity addition:

• Sozril
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sozril vertex
    Koromo said:
    @Sozril